X-Wing (Rogue Squadron Arc)

X-Wing series (Rogue Squadron Arc) by Michael Stackpole
This series of fan-favorite novels tell the story of Wedge Antilles's newly re-formed Rogue Squadron X-Wing pilots in the years after the destruction of the second Death Star. The varied Rogues will have to learn to work together if they are to cripple the flailing Empire, recapture the galactic capital planet Coruscant for the New Republic, and save the galaxy from the machinations of a sociopathic Imperial warlord. These books are remembered fondly by many Star Wars fans for their highly engaging, character-driven stories.

Buy on Amazon:
Book 1: Rogue Squadron
Book 2: Wedge's Gamble
Book 3: The Krytos Trap
Book 4: The Bacta War

The next three X-Wing novels follow a different group of pilots, Wraith Squadron. The story of Rogue Squadron is continued in Book 8: Isard's Revenge.

This is a post-Return of the Jedi series from the Legends timeline. Think of it as an alternate universe from The Force Awakens and newer books.