Here are your Star Wars book recommendations for non-human lead characters:
Showing posts with label non-human lead characters. Show all posts

Ahsoka

Ahsoka by E.K. Johnston
For fans of The Clone Wars and Star Wars: Rebels TV shows, this book tells the story of Anakin Skywalker's one-time padawan Ahsoka Tano in the time between her leaving the Jedi order and showing up as a leader of the Rebellion.

Though officially a young adult novel, Ahsoka is 400 pages long and a part of the same more-mature publishing line as 2015's fan favorite book Lost Stars.

Buy from Amazon!

This is a book from the New Canon timeline! It's guaranteed to be consistent with future movies, TV shows, books, and comics (and all new stories since mid-2014).

Thrawn

Thrawn by Timothy Zahn
Because author Timothy Zahn's Thrawn Trilogy kicked off the Legends publishing program in the early 1990s, it holds a special place in the hearts of Star Wars book fans. So for lots of us it was a big disappointment to see those books overwritten by the new movies. But that doesn't mean the trilogy's namesake character, blue-skinned military genius Grand Admiral Thrawn, is gone for good.

Now the fan-favorite character is back in the Star Wars canon with this novel about the beginnings of his career in the Imperial Navy, leading into his role in Season 3 of the Star Wars: Rebels TV show. And he's in good hands: The book is written by the same author as the original Thrawn Trilogy. In fact, this book could fit almost as well into the Legends timeline as it does into the New Canon!

Buy from Amazon!

Thrawn's career is continued in Thrawn: Alliances.

This is a book from the New Canon timeline! It's guaranteed to be consistent with future movies, TV shows, books, and comics (and all new stories since mid-2014).

Thrawn: Alliances

Thrawn: Alliances by Timothy Zahn
Fans of Timothy Zahn's Grand Admiral Thrawn will be excited for this sequel to the blue-skinned genius's New Canon debut in the novel Thrawn. Set between Seasons 3 and 4 of the Star Wars: Rebels TV show, it features Thrawn teaming up with Darth Vader himself in a mission to the edge of the Unknown Regions. This is interwoven with a flashback story set during the Clone Wars, revealing how Thrawn first met Anakin Skywalker (and Padme too).

Parts of the book take place at Black Spire Outpost on the planet Batuu, the setting of Disney's Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge theme parks.

Buy from Amazon!

Thrawn's story is continued in Thrawn: Treason.

This is a book from the New Canon timeline! It's guaranteed to be consistent with future movies, TV shows, books, and comics (and all new stories since mid-2014).

Thrawn: Treason

Thrawn: Treason by Timothy Zahn
The third of Timothy Zahn's new canon Thrawn novels is here! In this possibly-final installment, Thrawn comes face-to-face with the Empire's Death Star project, even as the Grand Admiral's divided loyalties between his homeworld and the Empire reach a final reckoning. This story also features the return of Eli Vanto, a main character from the first Thrawn book.

(Before this book, read the two previous stories, Thrawn and Thrawn: Alliances)

Buy from Amazon!

This is a book from the New Canon timeline! It's guaranteed to be consistent with future Star Wars movies, TV shows, books, and comics (and almost all new stories since mid-2014).

Canto Bight

Canto Bight by Saladin Ahmed, Rae Carson, Mira Grant, and John Jackson Miller
Canto Bight is the galaxy's most luxurious Casino City, and one of the settings of the new movie Episode VIII: The Last Jedi. In this book, four star authors each contribute a short novella about the lives of the people living in and visiting this city, and the gambles they must take to survive in a world where beauty is only a facade. The stories are based on background characters from The Last Jedi.

Buy from Amazon!

This is a book from the New Canon timeline! It's guaranteed to be consistent with future movies, TV shows, books, and comics (and all new stories since mid-2014).

Darth Plagueis

Darth Plagueis by James Luceno
A story set over the course of decades, this is the history how the Sith rose again to power, and of the life of Darth Plagueis, the ambitious Sith Lord who trained the later-emperor Palpatine in the ways of the Force!

Buy from Amazon!

This is a prequel era book from the Legends timeline. It may be contradicted by newer books, movies, or TV shows (if so, just think of it as an alternate universe).

Maul: Lockdown

Maul: Lockdown by Joe Schreiber
All hell breaks loose when young Sith apprentice Darth Maul is sent to retrieve a dark side weapon...by infiltrating a high-security space prison.

Buy from Amazon!

This is a prequel era book from the Legends timeline. It may be contradicted by newer books, movies, or TV shows (if so, just think of it as an alternate universe).

Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter

Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter by Michael Reaves
In the lead-up to Episode I: The Phantom Menace, small-time Coruscant information broker Lorn Pavan accidentally gets caught in a lethal political game, and ends up on the run from the worst imaginable pursuer: the Sith Lord Darth Maul.

Buy from Amazon!

This is a prequel era book from the Legends timeline. It may be contradicted by newer books, movies, or TV shows (if so, just think of it as an alternate universe).

Tales from the Mos Eisley Cantina

Tales from the Mos Eisley Cantina by various authors
A collection of short stories, each focusing on one of the characters from the famous bar scene in the original Star Wars movie!

Buy from Amazon!

This is a classic era book from the Legends timeline. It will likely be contradicted by newer books (if so, just think of it as an alternate universe).

(Interested in a New Canon take on the background characters of Star Wars: A New Hope? Check out Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View.)

Tales of the Bounty Hunters

Tales of the Bounty Hunters by various authors
This book is a collection of five (not-so-short) short stories about the bounty hunters seen in The Empire Strikes Back: Boba Fett, Bossk, Dengar, IG-88, Zuckuss, and 4-LOM. It's a varied and interesting look inside the minds of these characters whose loyalty is neither to the Empire or to the Rebel Alliance.

The book's "Tale of Boba Fett" was written before the bounty hunter's childhood was revealed in Attack of the Clones, so there are some contradictions - however, many fans actually preferred this book's take on Boba Fett over the newer backstory from the movies.

Buy from Amazon!

This is a classic era book from the Legends timeline. It will likely be contradicted by newer books (if so, just think of it as an alternate universe).

Shadows of the Empire

Shadows of the Empire by Steve Perry
The only novel set between The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, this book was published in 1996 as a refreshing return to the classic trilogy era, in the years where most novels took place after the defeat of the Emperor. The book is essentially a lead-in to Return of the Jedi, setting up the background for many of the events in that movie. However, it revolves heavily around a new character, the crime kingpin Prince Xizor, who is competing with Vader for the Emperor's favor.

Though the book tells a reasonably engaging story, many readers remember it more for its creepy attempted rape scene (for the record, most Star Wars novels have no sexual content at all).

Buy from Amazon!

This is a classic era book from the Legends timeline. It will likely be contradicted by newer books (if so, just think of it as an alternate universe).

Tales from Jabba's Palace

Tales from Jabba's Palace by various authors
The palace of Jabba the Hutt on Tatooine comes to vivid life in all its depravity in this collection of short stories tying in to Return of the Jedi. From the band and the dancers, to the guards and the rancor keeper, to the many others hiding in the shadows, this fun and diverse volume takes readers into the lives of the palace's denizens one by one. It's also memorable for a bizarre story of Boba Fett's experience rotting away inside the belly of the sarlacc.

Buy on Amazon!

This is a classic era book from the Legends timeline. It will likely be contradicted by newer books (if so, think of it as an alternate universe).